Awards for Juilliard Community Members

A number of members of the Juilliard community won major awards and prizes that were announced in March.

Julia Bullock

Julia Bullock

(Photo by Brent Arnold)

Related Stories

Related Stories: 


Soprano Julia Bullock, a student of Edith Bers in the Artist Diploma in Opera Studies program, won first prize in the Walter W. Naumburg Foundation’s international vocal competition. She will receive a $15,000 cash award, and a number of concerts around the country including two in New York City. She has the title role in Juilliard Opera’s production of Cendrillon this month.

Among the 16 composers to receive this year’s American Academy of Arts and Letters Awards in music, several are alums: Kati Agócs (Certificate ’00, M.M. ’02, D.M.A. ’05) and Daron Hagen (M.M. ’87) will each receive a $7,500 cash prize plus an additional $7,500 for the recording of one work. Music history faculty member Nathan Shields (M.M. ’08; D.M.A. ’13) will get $15,000 as the recipient of the Academy’s Charles Ives Fellowship, while William David Cooper (B.M. ’08; M.M. ’10) was awarded the Charles Ives Scholarship, for $7,500. The selection committee included composition faculty member Samuel Adler and Tobias Picker (Pre-College ’69; M.M. ’78, composition).

Finally, Jeremy Denk (D.M.A. ’01, piano) received the Avery Fisher Prize, a $75,000 award that recognizes outstanding achievement and excellence in music. Denk is currently collaborating with the composer Steven Stucky, who is joining Juilliard’s composition faculty in the fall, on a comic opera based on pianist Charles Rosen’s book The Classical Style.

Popular Columns

Recent Issues